Ina Sings for the Girls in Blue

Killarney singer INA Dennehy-White brought a musical touch to the annual St. Brigid's Secondary School, Killarney Awards on Friday 22nd May when she sang and played as special guest at the ceremony. 

Ina, a past pupil and the first recipient of the Orla Benson Award, brought her band, "The Small Hours", along to open and close the ceremony with contemporary folk songs.

Teacher Agnes Gilligan was the MC for the occasion. The audience was entertained by a montage of photographs from school events during the year. 

Principal Roisín Moore addressed the audience and reminded the students that each one of them as individuals has contributed to the unique school community and that although everybody did not receive an award, they had the innate potential to receive one. 

The catergories of awards included Art, Music, Sport, P.E., Outstanding Contribution to School spirit, Full School Attendance, Science, Excellence in Technical Graphics, Excellence in Design And Communication Graphics, Random Acts of Kindness, L.C.A. Student of the Year, Outstanding Contribution to T.Y. and Humanitarian Awards.

Certificates were also awarded for various sporting exploits during the year. Recipients included Kayleigh Cronin (contribution to athletics 2009-2015 and Senior Track and Field Athlete of the Year), Sarah Leahy (Junior Track And Field Athlete of the Year), Anna Clifford (Cross Country Athlete) ,Michelle Clifford, Ciara Moynihan, Emma Dineen, Seodhna O’Donoghue (Basketball Player of the Year). The awards for excellence in art went to Maria Quirke, Aoife Sheehen, Redone Sahiti (Junior) Dominica Gasiorowska and Kerry Mahony (Senior).Outstanding Contribution to School Spirit went to Laura O’Keeffe, Niamh Hickey, Lucy Cronin, Megan O’Neill, Alison Fitzmartin, Siobhan Fleming, Eimear Courtney, Michaela Bruton and Orla O’Reilly

The Poetry Aloud award was presented to Lucy McGurry, Eimear Beazley, Niamh Coffey, Amy Cooper, Karis Koschan, Aldina Murphy and Alison Fitzmartin.

Awards for Full School Attendance went to Rachel Doheny, Karis Koschan, Sophie Vousden, Mary Oliver, Shauna O’Donoghue, Clodagh O’Donoghue, Aine O’Donoghue, Fiona Scannell, Aoife Farrell, Sarah Leahy, Shola Koschan and Precious Akilapa.


This year saw the inaugural CEIST award being presented here at St.Brigid's. A perpetual trophy is awarded after a process of teacher nominations to a 6th year student who best reflects the core values of CEIST, namely promoting spiritual and human development, achieving quality in learning, showing respect for everyone, creating community and being just and responsible. Mrs Gobnait O’Mahony, a member of the Board of Management presented the award to Niamh Hickey and Laura O’Keeffe who are pictured above with their school Principal, Ms. Róisín Moore. Congratulations to both girls on this wonderful accolade.


Each year, the school presents a special award to a Leaving Certificate student who has shown exceptional dedication to the school spirit - the Orla Benson award. Orla Benson, a past pupil of St. Brigid's Secondary School, was killed tragically at a young age. In her memory, the Benson family provides a bursary each year for a student who fulfills all of the following criteria:

  • Full Participation in the life of the school
  • Has co-operated with peers and staff
  • Has used leisure time in a creative way
  • Has shown leadership qualities
  • Has shown a sense of humour and is full of the joys of life
  • And like Orla gave time and talent to help those in need

Pictured above Eimear Courtney receiving the Orla Benson award with Aaron Benson (Brother of Orla) and School Principal, Roísín Moore. 

The award this year was presented to Eimear Courtney. Over the past six years, Eimear has been an exceptional student, who has always been prepared to take part in every school activitiy, and who fulfills every task with energy, enthuasiasm and a smile

Following the presentation of most of the awards, there was a slide-show prepared by Mr. Hughes. Following the presentation of the Orla Benson Award, Ina and her band “The Small Hours” closed the awards ceremony with two beautiful songs.

Congratulations and well done to all involved, click here to view school gallery section for some futher photos of awards winners from the day.