Ard Scoil na nDéise 25th Anniversary

Bishop Cullinan celebrates Mass for Ard Scoil na nDéise 25th Anniversary and Feast Day

Pictured above Bishop Alphonsus Cullinan photographed with the First Year students of Ard Scoil na nDéise in St. Mary’s Parish Church on the occasion of the school Feast Day and 25th Anniversary Mass.

On Friday January 29th we were very honoured that Most Reverend Bishop Cullinan came to St. Mary’s Parish Church to celebrate Mass for our Feast Day and 25th Anniversary.

We were joined on the day by Mercy and Presentation Sisters, Catherine McCormack from the CEIST trust, members of staff and Board of Management of 1990, members of the present Board of Management and Parents’ Council, all our students and present staff, some parents and other family members.

Before Mass began Bishop Cullinan addressed the students and taught them the beautiful unaccompanied Taize chant “Oh Lord Hear My Prayer”, creating a lovely prayerful atmosphere throughout the church.

Our Lady of Lourdes was chosen as the patron saint of the school when Ard Scoil na nDéise was set up, and each year students from Fifth Year travel to Lourdes as helpers on the Diocesan Pilgrimage.

Two of the students who travelled to Lourdes last summer told us about their experience in the Communion Reflection.

Under the leadership of Father Harris, Ms Cotter and the Religion teachers, the students had planned and prepared carefully for the Mass, and three of our students who are Ministers of the Eucharist gave out Holy Communion with Bishop Cullinan, Father Ryan and Father Egan.

Our very talented musicians from every year group, led by our Music teacher Ms Lucey, contributed hugely to the celebration, and the beautiful voices of our Senior choir and soloists made the congregation’s experience of the Mass a truly special one.

Pictured above Back row, left to right: Father John Harris (School Chaplain), Ms Nicole Ferncombe (Secretary, Students’ Council), Ms Sinéad O’Donnell (Cáirde Group representative), Ms Dorothy Hughes (Principal), Ms Joanne Brosnan (Deputy Principal), Ms Ellen Curran (Chairperson, Students’ Council), Father William Ryan (Parish Priest, St. Mary’s)
Front row, left to right: Sr Imelda Wickham (Presentation Sisters), Sr Mary Jo Sheehy (Mercy Sisters), Bishop Alphonsus Cullinan, Ms Angela Conway (Chairperson, Board of Management), Ms Catherine McCormack (CEIST Trust) photographed in St. Mary’s Parish Church on the occasion of the school Feast Day and 25th Anniversary Mass. Absent from photo: Ms Anne Fogarty (Chairperson, Parents’ Council).

After Mass Bishop Cullinan met students and parishioners outside the church, and then he kindly returned for photographs with the First Year students and some of the invited guests.

We are most grateful to Father John Harris, our School Chaplin, who worked so hard with us to ensure that everything was thoroughly prepared for this significant occasion.