St Aloysius School Cork three times winners of the All Ireland Scholarship Awards!

In 2008 the All Ireland Scholarship Scheme was launched. The Awards are sponsored by J.P. McManus and his wife Noreen, who have endowed the scheme for 10 years. The awards are for students in the whole of Ireland North and South who have attended non-fee paying schools. Performance in the Leaving Cert examination is the basis for the award. At least two awards per county are given annually.

The recipients benefit from funding to the tune of €6000 per year for their undergraduate studies. In these hard times that is a wonderful help. In addition the scheme has fringe benefits. This year has seen the introduction of internships for award winners in companies in America. As a result one recipient is able to complete her degree at the prestigious Boston College. In all 1,300 students will benefit over the lifetime of the scheme.

In the first year of the scheme, 2008, Michelle McSweeney, St. Als student was among the recipients. Michelle is studying Dentistry at the University College Cork Dental School. Meriem Abbas repeated the success for St.Als in 2009. Meriam too is studying Dentistry at U.C.C. The third St. Als girl to benefit is Gwen Lehane, L.Cert 2010, who is now a student of Law International at University College Cork.

Great credit is due to J.P. and Noreen McManus for their vision and generosity in enabling so many young people to attend the university of their choice to pursue their preferred course with no financial worries.

The annual Awards Ceremony is a wonderful occasion. The students and the Principals of their schools are presented with a gift. It is a celebration of the hard work of the schools and the students. The guest speakers have included President Mary McAleese in 2009 who thanked the sponsors for their generosity. 

St Aloysius School Cork All Ireland Scholarship Winners

Pictured above receiving their All Ireland Scholarship Awards are (left to right) 2008 winner, Michelle McSweeney, 2009 winner, Meriem Abbas and 2010 award winner, Gwen Lehane.