St. Raphael's College Winners of 2010 Business Student Quiz!

The inaugural Business Student Quiz All-Ireland Final was held in the Tipperary Institute of Technology on Thursday 4th November 2011.

Fifteen victorious teams from the Regional Finals, together with their teachers and supporters made the trip to the Tipperary Institute to battle it out for the prestigious 2010 Business Student Quiz All – Ireland Final prize-winners title.

Taking learning out of the classroom, and adding an element of fun was the objective of the final with the top performing teams from Cork, Dublin, Donegal, Galway and the Mid-West tested on key Junior Certificate business fundamentals in addition to general knowledge.

The coveted prize-winner’s title, a plaque for display in their school and a generous cash prize courtesy of Ulster Bank was awarded to the winners, Cormac McGuinness, Daire Joyce, Sarah McMahon and Justin Cooney from St. Raphael’s College, Loughrea.

The tension rose quickly on the day, as St. Raphael’s College, Loughrea and Gort Community School went head-to-head in a tie breaker round for first place. The Loughrea team eventually emerged as victors, followed by Gort Community School and CBC, Cork in a close second and third place respectively.









Pictured above (front LtoR) are Cormac McGuinness, Daire Joyce, Sarah Monaghan and Justin Cooney who represented St. Raphael's College when they won the 2010 All-Ireland Business Student Quiz. They are pictured with Jenny Harrington, BSTAI, Dolores Finn-Kelly, teacher; Siobhan Meehan, Ulster Bank, Thurles (sponsor); Dan Hallissey, branch manager, John Kenehan, Tipperary Institute; Miriam Gleeson, teacher; and Conor Stakelum, Stakelum Thurles (sponsor).