Search

Leaving Cert Diary from Gavin Cooney - Mercy Secondary School, Ballymahon

A huge congratulations goes to leaving cert student Gavin Cooney from Mercy Secondary School, Ballymahon, Co. Longford who was selected to write the Leaving Cert diary during the exams for the Irish Independent.

Gavin was selected above and beyond many other students from all over the country to write his impressions every evening during the course of his Leaving Cert.

So make sure you get out there and buy the Irish Independent to see what life inside the Leaving Cert is like or track Gavin's electronic diary on the CEIST website.

Click on the links below to view daily editions from Gavin.

Tuesday 7th June

After all the talk, hype and study, it's time to take plunge

Wednesday 8th June

Exam Diary: The notes are read and the prayers have been said

Thursday 9th June

Exam Diary: First-day nerves banished by paper full of mystery 

Friday 10th June

Exam Diary: Poetry in motion as manageable paper finally came to be

Saturday 11th June

Tough paper -- but hell hath no fury like a maths student scorned

Tuesday 14th June

Recession is not all bad -- it makes a great essay topic 

Wednesday 15th June

Slan go foill to Irish until Longford's next GAA match

Thursday 16th June

Luckily I know my 'champignons' from champagne

Friday 17th June

Longing for the final curtain -- and a little sunshine

Saturday 18th June

The end is in sight -- I just have to avoid Facebook

Tuesday 21st June

Strange feeling as we enter final straight. . .

Wednesday 22nd June

All done and dusted -- what an anti-climax