Presentation Clonmel celebrate 15th Annual Presentation Awards

Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel celebrated the 15th Annual Presentation Awards for Excellence in St. Mary's Church Irishtown last Tuesday. The awards acknowledge the tremendous achievements of the girls across the whole spectrum in education in the school. The awards recognize that this pursuit of excellence is not confined to academic achievement but encompasses the whole range of activities that makes for a rounded and balanced education.

The evening is a celebration of the achievements of the students over the past school year. The evening began a beautiful rendition of “One Step Beyond” by the Junior School Choir under the guidance of music teachers, Ms. Siobhan Alley and Ms. Jennifer Williams. The school was delighted to have Ms. Tomoco Matsumoto who is First Secretary to the Japanese Embassy and Kieran Stafford, President of local conference of St. Vincent De Paul as special guests.

Fr. Billy Meehan opened with the ceremony with a prayer and paid tribute to the Presentation community for its continued excellent role in educating young girls in Clonmel.

Mr. Michael O’Loughlin (Principal) welcomed the large attendance which included special guests, Presentation Sisters from the local community and the trustee’s representatives, members of the Board of Management, Teachers, Parents, Sponsors and most importantly, the students themselves.

Mr. O’Loughlin said “Awards Day for all of us in Presentation Clonmel is one of the major highlights in the school calendar and I want to congratulate all the students whom you will see here today as they receive their certificates and awards. I say well done to you all, we are really proud of your achievements and wish you continued success in the years ahead both in school and outside of it as well. The range of awards that will be presented reflects all aspects of school life and represents our mission of offering to our students a holistic catholic education in a caring environment”.

He added also “despite the economic climate, our school has helped to fundraise for a number of different organisations over recent years. We are delighted as school today to present two donations to two different organisations. Also, I am delighted to welcome Ms. Tomoco Matsumoto who is First Secretary to the Japanese Embassy to the ceremony and will accept the donation on behalf of the Japanese Earthquake relief fund. Last year, one of our fifth international students was from Japan and was with us when the earthquake/tsunami hit Japan. For our Easter prayer service last year, Yui Ishida with help from her fellow fifth years, organised a fundraising event for those affected by the earthquake in Japan. In appreciation of generosity, Yui made a paper origami for the whole school population”.

Mr. O’Loughlin also welcomed Kieran Stafford, President of local conference who is representing St. Vincent De Paul to the ceremony. He stated that “St. Vincent de Paul is a local, national and internationally organisation with over 10,000 volunteers. Its aim is to tackle poverty through the provision of practical assistance to those in need. St Vincent De Paul works closely with our school. It is tremendous that as a school today that we can give something back to the organisation”

Certificates of Recognition of Outside Achievement in Extra Curricular Activity

The evening started with a presentation by Ms.Kathriona Murphy to over 115 girls for their involvement in extra-curricular activity. In presenting these certificates, the school recognized the outstanding achievements of the students in their chosen field of activity and is acknowledging the ambassadorial of the students on behalf of the school.

Student of the Year Awards

The Student of the Year Award from the 1st to 6th year groups were presented by the respective Year Head in association with the sponsor of each year group. Nominations from each year were invited on stage and with mounting tension, the Year Head read out the winner.

These awards were followed by the Academic Awards.

Junior Cert Academic Award

Mrs. Anne Dwyer (Deputy-Principal) presented the Junior Certificate Academic Award. He said that “the Presentation ethos will always be to help students to reach their potential and in our school, our girls are very fortunate to be supported by a highly dedicated teaching staff. There is no doubt looking at this years Junior Cert results that everyone reached their potential.” Roisin Cleary won the Junior Cert Academic Award, a past student of Rathkeevin NS Primary School who achieved ten As in all honours papers.

Leaving Cert Academic Award

Mr.Michael O’Loughlin (Principal) presented Leaving Cert Academic Awards. Leaving Certificate Award was presented to Lucy Purcell, a past student of the Gaelscoil Cluain Meala who achieved 535 points in her Leaving Certificate. She is currently studying Business and Law in UCD.

Grace Murphy, a past student of the Sisters of Charity, was the winner of the Leaving Cert Applied Academic Award. A variety of assessment methods are used in Leaving Cert Applied and credits are gained for class work and attendance, 7 projects, interviews, oral language exams, work experience placement and final year practical and written exams. Grace worked very hard and consistently since starting their programme in September 2009 and is described by her teachers as an excellent student who showed great care for others as well

Special Category Awards

Special Category Awards were presented in areas such as Creativity, Enterprise & Initiative, Leadership, Sports Awards, Student Peer Awards, Scientific Endeavour and Master Chef, a new addition to the awards this year. These awards recognized the tremendous work by students outside the academic area and their participation in extra curricular areas in the school community. Mrs. Anne Casey, presented the Social Innovation Award, which was presented to Ms. Tomoco Matsumoto who is First Secretary to the Japanese Embassy to the ceremony. Ms. Matsumoto accepted the award on behalf of Yui Ishida.

After the presentation of the awards, the audience listened to acceptance speeches from Ms. Tomoco Matsumoto and Mr. Kieran Stafford. They, both, thanked the students for their donations and congratulated the school on great awareness of social justice.

Presidents of the Student Council,Vivian Kenneally and Shauna Mulcahy presented a bouquet of flowers on behalf of the students to Sr. Colette, Ms.Tomoco Matsumoto, Mrs. Vera Power and Mrs. Rogers. Mr.O’Loughlin concluded the ceremony by congratulating all the award recipients for their individual achievements and paid tribute to Ms. Jean Rogers for organizing the smooth running of the event.

The Awards ceremony concluded with the Junior Choir singing, “May the road rise with you”.

Award Winners

Academic Awards: Junior Cert: Roisin Cleary

Leaving Certificate: Lucy Purcell Leaving Cert Applied: Grace Murphy

Student of the Year: Chloe Doyle (First Year), Ellie Mackey (Second Year), Ruth O’Dwyer (Third Year), Mary Ann Lambert (Fifth Year) and Becky Nugent (Sixth Year).

Special Category Awards; Niamh Byrne (Creativity), TY class of 2010 (Enterprise and initiative), Aileen Wall (Sports) Chisom Aghamelu, Rebecca Mullins, Aoife Cosgrave, Sarah Kearney, Ciara Power (Scientific Endeavour) Rebecca Whelan (Master Chef),Yui Ishida (Social Awareness Award)

Student Peer Awards; First Year: Aimun Khan and Chloe O’Brien Second Year: Ellie Mackey Third Year: Tanya Crotty Fifth Year: Mary-Anne Lambert Sixth Year; Miriam Ryan

Photos from the Award Ceremony

Your browser does not support Flash content. Please download and install the latest version of the Flash plug-in to view this content.