CEIST Schools Debating

For the second year in a row, Scoil Chriost Ri Secondary School, Portlaoise hosted the CEIST schools debating competition. Expanding from the success of last year’s competition, the event was hosted on Friday the 9th of March in Scoil Chriost Ri.

On the day students from Scoil Chriost Ri, Portlaoise, St. Leo’s College, Carlow, Presentation Seconday School, Thurles, Mercy Secondary School, Kilbeggan, Sacred Heart Secondary School, Tullamore, Presentation De la Salle Secondary School, Bagnelstown, Carlow and Colaiste Iosagain, Portarlington competed in both junior and senior categories in a bid to secure accolades which included ‘Best Speaker’ and ‘Best Team’.

The debates were kept to order by local adjudicators Kevin Langan, Mary Flanagan, Charlie Flanagan, Louis Brennan, Joe Barret, John Hayes, Anne Doolan and Betty O’ Callaghan, who ensured the deserving speakers triumphed in the end.

All speakers were faced with two separate motions to speak on which ranged from topics such as “Gender Quotas on teaching staff in schools” to whether or not “Fit students should receive extra CAO points”.

After all debates ended and the scores were totted up, the adjudicators found the following to be winners:

Best Team

Senior Team: Caoimhe Norton and Aine Mc Carthy

Junior Team: Sorcha Henderson and Keelin Nugent

Best Speaker:

Senior: Sorcha Henderson

Junior: Jane Meade

After the success of this year’s competition, hopefully the 110 CEIST schools around the country will endeavour to promote the skill of debating among their students so that this inter-schools competition will continue to grow from strength to strength each year.