Post Leaving Cert Graduation at Mary Immaculate Secondary School

The 15th Post Leaving Cert Graduation took place at Mary Immaculate Secondary School, Lisdoonvarna, Co. Clare on Friday 16th November.

Anne Kelleher CEO CEIST, presented awards in Business, Professional Arts Practice and Supervision in Childcare to 45 Level 6 students.

Mona Hynes (Deputy Principal) presented awards in Business, Community & Health and Childcare to 22 Level 5 students.

There were 7 minor awards presented also, recipients of these are currently working towards their full awards.

In the 15 years of PLC in Mary Immaculate over 2,000 certificates have been awarded. Principal John O’Loughlin, Marian O’Callaghan (Co-ordinator) and Teresa Conneely praised the students for their commitment and efforts in achieving their awards.

The value of following a FETAC Course in Mary Immaculate was highlighted by the fact that over 10% of students are now in Third Level Education and approximately 70% are currently employed.

Three students Laura Burke, Clare Gallagher and Ruairí Murdiff outlined their positive experiences of returning to education and the welcoming atmosphere at Mary Immaculate.

Special thanks were also given to Clare Gallagher Tommy Moloney, Ruairi Murdiff and Melyssa Mac Gillivray who gave invaluable support and encouragement as Mentors to their fellow students throughout the year.

The school also had a very successful Art Exhibition under the direction of Olivia O’Dwyer (Professional Arts Teacher).

Mary Immaculate is currently running the new FETAC Level 5 and Level 6 awards in Early Childhood Education and Play. Anyone interested in returning to education on a part-time or fulltime basis should without hesitation contact the school on 065-7074266 or email

Also, 35 fifth year students were presented with their Minor awards in Communications and Occupational First Aid by the Principal John O’Loughlin.

John was wholesome in his praise of the students and their tutors on their achievements during their Transition Year Programme.

PLC Ceremony Photos

Pictured above Anne Kelleher, CEO CEIST, presents award to Siobhan O'Flaherty.

School Principal John O’Loughlin pictured with award receipient Carmel Finn.

Pictured above are Fifth Year students who received FETAC awards.

Level Six award winners are pictured above with Anne Kelleher, John O'Loughlin, Mona Hynes, Marian O'Callaghan and Teresa Conneely.