Notable Success On The Sports Fields for Eureka Secondary School, Kells

All Ireland Tesco Homegrown Post Primary Schools Junior B

Eureka Secondary School, Kells, Co. Meath produced a fantastic display to overcome Ballinamore Community School, Leitrim in the TESCO Homegrown Post Primary School’s Junior B Final. The Meath School played a flawless tactical game and had the perfect finisher in full forward, Niamh O’Keefe, who finished the day with 5 goals to her name.

From the moment the two teams appeared on the pitch the clouds opened to produce a torrential downpour that lasted right up until the final whistle.

It was Ballinamore that started the brighter of the 2 teams as they scored the first point of the match through corner forward, Aileen MaGuire who was to finish the game with 5 points. However, this was to be the only time that the Leitrim school, were to lead as Eureka got to grips with the awful weather conditions to produce some beautiful flowing football.

The impressive Amy Gaynor levelled the scores for Eureka as the playmaker took her score well but that was followed immediately by Niamh O’Keefe’s first contribution as she stormed along the side-line before finishing delicately to the bottom corner. Eureka never looked back and O’Keefe was to hit the net twice more in the first half to complete her hat trick of goals. Aileen Maguire pointed another free for Ballinamore but they were already in consolation territory as the half time score was 3-07 to 0-02 in favour of Eureka.

Ballinamore needed a quick start to the second half but they were immediately rocked back on their heels, as O’Keefe was on the end of a typical flowing move and the expert markswoman made no mistake. O’Keefe was to add yet another goal to finish with an impressive tally of 5 goals and a point and manager and teacher, David Wright, even had the luxury of withdrawing the player of the match with more than 10 minutes to play. Carla La Guen scored Ballinamore’s only point from play but their misery was compounded as Laura Keoghan added her school’s 6th goal. The Leitrim School never gave up battling right to the end but they had no answer to a fantastic attacking performance from Eureka.

To their credit the likes of Eilis O’Dowd, Carla La Guen, Aileen MaGuire and substitute Katie McNulty did their best to bring Ballinamore back into the game.

For the winners there were outstanding performances all over the field especially from the like of Shianne Swarres who played a deep lying defensive role despite wearing number 15 on her back, Marion Farrelly was outstanding at centre half back as was Amy Gaynor who was at the heart of everything good that Eureka did.

Laura Keoghan, Edith Lynch and Ciara Lynch were all excellent in attack but there is no doubt that the headlines will go the way of Niamh O’Keefe who took every chance that came her way to justify her selection as Player of the Match.

Final Score:
Eureka S.S Kells 6-13
Ballinamore C.S Leitrim 0-06

Ballinamore C.S. S. O’Rourke, R. McNiffe, R. O’Toole, K. Doonan (c), E. Quinn, D McGovern, N. McNiffe, E. O’Dowd, R. McHugh, S. Plunkett, E. McGovern, A. McCartin, C. LeGuen (0-01), L. Flynn, A. MaGuire (0-05 f).

Eureka S.S, Kells. L. Carpenter, H. Doyle, M. Carpenter, E. O’Neill, A. Tobin, M. Farrelly, E. Corcoran, C. Dolan (0-02), R. Finnegan, E. Lynch (0-02), A. Gaynor (0-01), L. Keoghan (1-02, 0-01f) C. Lynch (0-03), N. O’Keefe (5-01), S. Swaress

Pictured above the Eureka Girls GAA Team who won the All Ireland Post Primary Junior B Title.

IFA Leinster Champions - First Year Division 1

Eureka Secondary School girls won 6-0 against Scoil Mhuire, Clane to become 1st year division 1 champions.

Goals from Hannah Boggins and Ruby Loughlin and 2 from Lorraine Drumm and 2 from Chloe McDonnell sealed a well deserved victory in Trim.

Well done to all that took part and coaches Mr Noone, Mr Dennehy and Mr Whitty.

Pictured above the Eureka girls team who won the IFA Division 1 Leinster Championship.