Latest News from Coláiste Íosagáin Portarlington

Minister for Justice meets the Student Council of Coláiste Íosagáin, Portarlington

On Monday, December 18th Local TD and Minister for Justice and Equality Charlie Flanagan TD visited Coláiste losagáin, Portarlington to meet the Student Council and present them with their Certificates of Election. The recently formed Student Council consists of twenty students elected by their peers. Seventy-Four students went forward for election to the Council when voting took place in October. Each of the candidates had to make a presentation to their Year on why they should be elected to the Student Council. Students then voted by secret ballot to elect their representatives.

Aoibh Keogh and Anito Marcarelli, Deputy Chairpersons of the Student Council formally welcomed and introduced the Minister to their fellow students. Minister Flanagan spoke of his own experience of being a member of a Student Representative Council many years ago when he was a student in Knockbeg College, Carlow. Minister Flanagan presented each of the members of the Student Council with Certificates and participated in a Question and Answer session after. Members of the Student Council asked the Minister a variety of questions on topics which ranged from confidence in the Gardai, the gender pay gap and the legalisation of medicinal cannabis. The Minister equipped himself well and answered all questions put to him. However the greatest round of applause came at the end of the event when Ben Wheatley, a 6th Year student asked the Minister when students would have a new school building. Building was due to commence a few years ago but blocks still have to be laid. The Minister assured students that money was not an issue and building would commence next year.

Some pictures from the day are shown below:

Student Council members Aoibh Keogh and Anito Marcarelli

Student Council greeting the Minister for Justice and Equality Charlie Flanagan TD

Principal Seamus Bennett and Deputy Principal Justin Brown with Minister for Justice and Equality Charlie Flanagan TD

Certificate of Election presented to members of the Student Council by the Minister 


Students from Coláiste losagáin, Portarlington receive The John Paul II Award

The Award was created to commemorate the late Pope John Paul II who was so committed to young people and who had such belief and confidence in them.

Through the Pope John Paul II Award, young people are enabled to take an active part in the life of their Church, in the life of their community and society and also become more aware of the teaching and role of the Catholic Church in the world. This enables young people to engage at a deep level with Christ, whose body the Church is.

The Award allows young people to understand that religion and faith is not just for learning, nor is it a list of rules, but that it is for living.

The Award has two aspects: Church involvement and Social involvement. It is awarded at three levels, gold, silver and bronze. After completion of this award the awardees may go on the do the Papal Cross Award.

Eleven 6th Year students have completed the Award. They are: Marta Ambrozinska, Codie-Marie Brown, Amy Carthy, Agata Gapys. Martyna Kujawa, Megan Quinn Murphy, Leah Naughton, Chisom Onwukwe, Emma Ryan, Anna Ridgeway, and Nicole Tynan, Ten of the group will receive Gold Awards and one student is getting the Silver Award Chisom Onwukwe and Marta Ambrozinska are now participating in the Papal Cross Award.  These students received their awards at an Award Ceremony on the 6th December, in Portlaoise.Presently there are fourteen 5th Year students participating in the award.

Regional A u 16 Basketball Champions