Presentation Clonmel Academic Awards for Excellence 2013-14

Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel celebrated the 18th Annual Presentation Awards for Excellence in St. Mary's Church Irishtown in October. The awards acknowledge the tremendous achievements of the girls across the whole spectrum in education in the school. The awards recognize that this pursuit of excellence is not confined to academic achievement but encompasses the whole range of activities that makes for a rounded and balanced education. The evening is a celebration of the achievements of the students over the past school year. The evening began a beautiful rendition of “One Step Beyond” by the Junior School Choir under the guidance of music teachers, Ms. Siobhan Alley and Ms. Jennifer Williams.

The school was delighted to have Sonya Walsh, a past pupil as the guest speaker. Sonya works as Senior manager for EMEA operations for McAfee, IT company based in Cork. Sonya encouraged the students to look seriously at the opportunities available to them in the IT/Science/Engineering area. The school were especially delighted to have a past pupil to share her thoughts with us for the day.

Mr. Michael O’Loughlin (Principal) welcomed the large attendance which included special guests, Presentation Sisters from the local community and the Trustees representatives, members of the Board of Management, Teachers, Parents, Sponsors and most importantly, the students themselves.

Mr.O’Loughlin said “Awards Day for all of us in Presentation Clonmel is one of the major highlights in the school calendar and I want to congratulate all the students whom you will see here today as they receive their certificates and awards. I say well done to you all, we are really proud of your achievements and wish you continued success in the years ahead both in school and outside of it as well. The range of awards that will be presented reflects all aspects of school life and represents our mission of offering to our students a holistic catholic education in a caring environment”.

Orla Mooney and Rachel Delahunt (President and Vice President of the Student Council) replied on behalf of the students. Certificates of Recognition of outside Achievement in Extra Curricular Activity. The evening started with a presentation by Ms. Kathriona Murphy to over 90 girls for their involvement in extra-curricular activity. In presenting these certificates, the school recognized the outstanding achievements of the students in their chosen field of activity and is acknowledging the ambassadorial of the students on behalf of the school.

Pictured above are the Academic Award recipients with Principal Michael O'Loughlin. 

Student of the Year Awards

The Student of the Year Award from the 1st to 6th year groups were presented by the respective Year Head in association with the sponsor of each year group. Nominations from each year were invited on stage and with mounting tension, the Year Head read out the winner.

These awards were followed by the Academic Awards.

Junior Cert Academic Award

Mrs. Fennell (Third Year Head for 13/14) presented the Junior Certificate Academic Award. She said that “the Presentation ethos will always be to help students to reach their potential and in our school, our girls are very fortunate to be supported by a highly dedicated teaching staff. There is no doubt looking at this year’s Junior Cert results that everyone reached their potential.” Korenila Gucwa was the winner of the Junior Cert Academic Award.

Leaving Cert Academic Award

Mr. Michael O’Loughlin (Principal) presented Leaving Cert Academic Awards.

Traditional Leaving Certificate Award was presented to Roisin Cleary, a past pupil of Rathkeevin N.S. who achieved 7 A1s in her Leaving Certificate. Roisin is now studying Medicine in UCD. During the six years which she has spent as a student of Presentation Secondary, Molly has shown herself to be a student of exceptional ability. Needless to say when it came to Leaving Cert she shone again with a brilliant result which included 7 A1 grades.

Sophie McCarthy, a past student of the Sisters of Charity, was the winner of the Leaving Cert Applied Academic Award.

Sophie worked very hard and consistently since starting her programme in September 2011 and is described by her teachers as an excellent student who showed great care for others as well..

Special Category Awards

Special Category Awards were presented in areas such as Creativity, Enterprise & Initiative, Leadership, Sports Awards, Student Peer Awards, Scientific Endeavour and Master Chef. These awards recognized the tremendous work by students outside the academic area and their participation in extra curricular areas in the school community.

President of the Student Council, Orla Moroney presented a bouquet of flowers on behalf of the school to Sr. Anne Healy (Presentation Sisters), Sonya Walsh (Guest Speaker) and Natalie Goodman (Past pupil).

Mr. O’Loughlin concluded the ceremony by congratulating all the award recipients for their individual achievements and paid tribute to Ms.Jean Rogers for organizing the smooth running of the event.

The Award winners were as follows;

Academic Awards: Junior Cert: Kornelia Gucwa

Leaving Certificate: Roisin Cleary Leaving Cert Applied: Sophie McCarthy

Student of the Year: Ali Corcoran (First Year), Aoife O’Farrell & Stephanie Siaw (Second Year) Eileen Flannery (Third Year) Nadine Mullery (TY) Lorna Ni Cheallaigh & Blathniad Moore (Fifth year) Ailis McCarthy (Sixth Year).

Pictured above Ailish McCarthy receiving her student peer award for 6th Year.

Special Category Awards; Moya O’Dywer(Creativity Art), Sinead O’Donavan(Creativity Music), LCA year 1 students(Enterprise and Initiative) Laura Nagle (Sports Senior) Sarah O’Dwyer (Sports Junior) Roisin Cleary & Sarah Kearney(Scientific Endeavour) (Junior Aoife Shortiss, Senior Moya O’Dwyer (Master Chef) Orla Moroney, (Social Awareness Award).

Student Peer Awards:
First Year: Natasha Holmes & Orla Ryan Second Year: Aoife O’Farrell Third Year: Eileen Flannery Fifth Year: Chloe Doyle Sixth Year; Ailish McCarthy.

Pictured above Catherine McCormack of CEIST with Principal Michael O'Loughlin presenting Social Awareness award to student Orla Moroney. Orla is a well deserved winner and her contribution to those in need is exemplary.

Pictured above are the Creativity Award winners.

Pictured above are the Enterprise Award winners.

Piotured above are the Sports Award winners. 

Pictured above are the Student of the Year Award winners. 

Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel Student Peer Award winners pictured above.