Students from Coláiste losagáin, Portarlington receive The John Paul II Award

Coláiste Íosagáin Portarlington - JP11 AwardThe Award was created to commemorate the late Pope John Paul II who was so committed to young people and who had such belief and confidence in them.

Through the Pope John Paul II Award, young people are enabled to take an active part in the life of their Church, in the life of their community and society and also become more aware of the teaching and role of the Catholic Church in the world. This enables young people to engage at a deep level with Christ, whose body the Church is.

The Award allows young people to understand that religion and faith is not just for learning, nor is it a list of rules, but that it is for living.

The Award has two aspects: Church involvement and Social involvement. It is awarded at three levels, gold, silver and bronze. After completion of this award the awardees may go on the do the Papal Cross Award.

Eleven 6th Year students have completed the Award. They are: Marta Ambrozinska, Codie-Marie Brown, Amy Carthy, Agata Gapys. Martyna Kujawa, Megan Quinn Murphy, Leah Naughton, Chisom Onwukwe, Emma Ryan, Anna Ridgeway, and Nicole Tynan, Ten of the group will receive Gold Awards and one student is getting the Silver Award

Chisom Onwukwe and Marta Ambrozinska are now participating in the Papal Cross Award

These students received their awards at an Award Ceremony on the 6th December, in Portlaoise.

Presently there are fourteen 5th Year students participating in the award.