Coláiste Íosagáin Portarlington News – May 2019

Coláiste Íosagáin Portarlington bid farewell to teacher Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM

Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM who is living in the Presentation Community Portlaoise is retiring form the Teaching staff in Coláiste Iosagáin, Portarlington this month. Sr. Maureen has been a Religion and English Teacher with us since 2003. Before that she was in Scoil Mhuire, Clane and Scoil Chriost Ri, Portlaoise. Sr. Maureen is one of the last Presentation Sisters to be still teaching in a secondary school. While Sr. Maureen is retired from teaching thankfully she will be returning to us to continue her work as a school chaplain. To mark her retirement Bishop Denis Nulty, Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin visited the school to formally acknowledge her contribution to education and thank her for loyal and dedicated service.

Below are some photos taken from the day.

Bishop Denis Nulty with Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM

Fr. Pat Hughes, Deputy Principal Justin Brown, Principal Seamus Bennett, Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM, Bishop Denis Nulty and Deputy Principal Siobhan Higgins

Principal Seamus Bennett, Bishop Denis Nulty, Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM and Deputy Principal Justin Brown

Deputy Principal Justin Brown, Bishop Denis Nulty, Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM and Fr. Pat Hughes, CC Portarlington

Bishop Denis Nulty presenting Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM with farewell gift


Leaving Certificate Graduation Ceremony 23rd May 2019

On 23rd May the Leaving Certificate students of Coláiste ĺosagáin, Portarlington graduated from school. The day was a busy one for the 180 plus students. The morning started at 9.00 am with a wellbeing session delivered by one of their RE teachers Ms. M. Nolan. After that the Bishop Denis Nulty arrived to meet the students and wish them well as they embarked on the next stage of their life journey. Bishop Denis also presented a number of awards and certificates. Students were recognised for their role in Meitheal and on the Student Council.

After their breakfast was served students continued  the morning with more awards and students were recognised in such areas as Exceptional Attendance, Leadership, Helping Hands, Academic and Most improved.

Later that evening the students and their families assembled in the Parish Church for mass celebrated by school chaplain and local curate Fr. Pat Highes. Back in the school afterwards the families were entertained by the students and further awards were presented. The award recipients included the CEIST Award winner, Robyn McRedmond and Students of the Year, Aoibh Kehoe and Zohra Anjum. Kasper Nosal received the John Gorman Memorial Award. The award is given to promising Construction students in memory of the late past pupil who was tragically killed in a car accident.

A number of students were also recognised for their achievements in sport. Michelle Byrne and Patrick Hurley were recognised as Footballers of the Year while Michael Cunningham and Caoimhe O’Connor were awarded Basketballers of the Year. Emmanuel was recognised as Athlete of the Year for his achievements on the running track.

Karen Walsh, 6th Year Head concluded the evening by acknowledging the contrition of all students and wishing them well in their upcoming exams. 179 Leaving Certificate Established students and 25 Leaving Certificate Applied students graduated on the evening and will commence their exams on Wednesday 5th June.

Meanwhile 5th Year student Damien Geoghegan was the worthy recipient of the inaugural Nano Nagle Award. This award which was sponsored by staff member Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM will be an annual award which will presented to one 5th Year student who models the Nano Nagle ethos of care, compassion and willingness to get involved and assist others. Damien who is a member of the Student Council is also pursuing the John Paul 11 Award.

Below are some pictures of the winners from the day.

Ms. Fionuala Cleary presents the award for Athlete of the Year to Emmanuel Illori

Ms. Ciara Hutchinson presents the awards for Basketballers of the Year to Caoimhe O’Connor and Michael Cunningham

Sr. Maureen O’Rourke PBVM presents the inaugural Nano Nagle Award to 5th Year student Damien Geoghegan

Mr. Ronan Walsh presents the awards for Footballers of the Year to Michelle Byrne and Patrick Hurley

Mr. Justin Brown, DP presents the CEIST Award to Robyn McRedmond

The winner of the John Gorman Memorial Award Kasper Nosal

Leaving Certificate Students Ciaran Ward and Donovan Fox

Ms. Karen Walsh, Year Head presents Zohra Anjum with the Student of the Year Award (Joint Winner)

Ms. Karen Walsh, Year Head presents Aoibh Kehoe with the Student of the Year Award (Joint Winner)

Robyn McRedmond, CEIST Award winner with her Mam and Dad

Bishop Denis Nulty and Year Head Karen Walsh with members of Meitheal